The academy is brand new. If you spot any issues please let us know.

Do Vegans Eat Eggs?

vegan questions Dec 21, 2018

Vegans do not eat eggs, because their production requires the exploitation of female chickens and the murder of male chicks within 15 minutes of hatching.

Veganism by definition is a way of living that seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose. For this reason, consuming eggs can never be vegan.

Why don't vegans eat eggs?

Vegans do not eat eggs because their production involves the exploitation of the reproductive systems of hens.

Female chickens are bought and kept so that farmers can profit from the eggs they lay.

This is against the definition of veganism, which seeks to exclude all forms of exploitation and cruelty to all sentient beings, including hens.

Why can't vegans eat eggs?

Vegans can't eat eggs because in order to be vegan a person must avoid all forms of animal exploitation, and the egg industry exploits the reproductive system of hens.

Most eggs come from...

Continue Reading...

Veganism And Vegans In The UK

vegan questions Nov 26, 2018

There are approximately 600,000 vegans in the UK in 2018, according to The Vegan Society.

The number of vegans in the UK continues to increase. As a result, vegan food, clothing and cosmetics are becoming increasingly easy to source, and can be found in most supermarkets and on most high streets.

The UK vegan population

The UK vegan population is growing. From 2006 to 2018, the number of vegans in the UK increased by more than 360 percent. This year, food giant JustEat listed veganism as its top consumer trend for 2018, after the demand for vegan and vegetarian food ordered through its platform increased by 987 percent.

Large brands like Nestle, McDonald's, Starbucks, Pret A Manger, Pizza Hut and Pizza Express have all increased their vegan offerings in the UK to meet the demand for food that's free from animal produce.

Best vegan cities in the UK

If you're a vegan UK resident, there are lots of places you can find great vegan food and vegan non-food products. Some cities are known...

Continue Reading...

What Is The Difference: A Vegan Lifestyle Vs A Plant-Based Diet

vegan questions Nov 22, 2018

Vegans avoid animal exploitation across their entire lifestyle, whereas those on a plant-based diet do not consume animals or animal products, but might still exploit them through other activities.

vegan individual is likely to eat the same diet as a plant-based individual, but a vegan will avoid other forms of animal exploitation. Vegans won't wear leather, for example, but someone on a plant-based diet might wear leather, wool and silk.

The definition of veganism, as defined by The Vegan Society, is: "A way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose."

The definition of a plant-based according to Wikipedia is: "A plant-based diet is a diet based on foods derived from plants, including vegetables, whole grains, nuts, seeds, legumes and fruits, but with few or no animal products."

What's the difference between a vegan and a plant-based diet

...

Continue Reading...

Can Vegans Drink Beer?

vegan questions Nov 06, 2018

Beer is most commonly made from barley malt, water, hops and yeast, which means it’s usually vegan. Unfortunately, some beer brewers add finings that are not vegan as part of their brewing process, and this means that some beers are not suitable for those trying to live a cruelty-free lifestyle. 

There are several ingredients you should look out for in beers if you’re avoiding animal products. You should also pay careful attention to the wine and cider you drink, as these can contain non-vegan ingredients, too. 

You're most likely to find isinglass, gelatin, glycerin or casein in non-vegan beers and other alcoholic beverages, but some wines, ciders and beers can also contain milk, eggs and honey. Since vegans seek to exclude products that use or exploit animals within their ingredients or production, this would mean that any alcohol containing those ingredients is not vegan.

Why is beer not vegan?

Some beer is not vegan because bewers add finings to their...

Continue Reading...

Is It Safe To Feed Your House Cat A Vegan Diet?

vegan questions Oct 24, 2018

Vegan cats cause a lot of controversy. In fact, putting any omnivorous or carnivorous animal on a vegan diet incenses vegans and non-vegans alike.

There are many who'll argue that carnivorous animals, such as cats, should never be given a vegan diet.

The most common reasons for this opinion include a belief that cats cannot get what they need from a vegan diet, and the opinion that animals cannot decide for themselves to go vegan, and therefore the should not be forced into it.

Can cats be vegan?

Yes, multiple experts - including Professor Andrew Knight - say cats can survive on plant-based cat foods, as long as their human companion is taking extra care to make sure that they're getting the nutrients they need. You can buy fortified vegan cat food online and in some pet shop

It is really important that you do not try and feed your cat vegetables in the form of human food. Whilst dogs can be fed a carefully planned vegan diet through proper research, there are...

Continue Reading...

How To Get B12 In A Vegan Diet

vegan questions Oct 04, 2018

Vitamin B12 helps to keep nerve and blood cells healthy. The consequences of not getting enough are extremely serious. People who do not get enough B12 can suffer from weakness, heart palpitations, shortness of breath, pale skin, diarrhea, hair loss, and mental conditions.

In severe cases of deficiency, a lack of vitamin B12 can cause death. Most vegans get enough B12 to survive, but are sometimes borderline deficient. In order to maintain optimal health, it is really important that you make sure you're getting enough.

Humans get vitamin B12 from the food that they eat. Whether you are veganvegetarian or an omnivore, it's extremely important that you monitor your vitamin B12 intake and take supplements if you aren't getting enough. It is estimated that approximately one third of the general population does not achieve the recommended daily dose of vitamin B12.

What is B12?

Vitamin B12 is a water soluble vitamin also known as cobalamin. It is involved...

Continue Reading...

Is Palm Oil Vegan?

vegan questions Oct 04, 2018

Palm oil is a vegetable and is technically vegan in its raw form. It is derived from palm fruit, which grows on African oil palm trees. In principle, palm oil is vegan, but many vegans choose to avoid the oil, because they argue that extraction of palm oil exploits animals and causes them pain and suffering, something vegans avoid.

Palm oil is damaging the environment. Huge areas of the rainforest are destroyed to make way for plantations that produce palm oil, and several species of animals are threatened with extinction as a direct result of its production.

Palm oil is a common ingredient in lots of products most vegans and non-vegans eat everyday.

What foods contain palm oil?

You’ll find palm oil in bread, biscuits, sweets, crips, margarine, vegan cheese, ice-cream, instant foods and chocolate.

It is a versatile vegetable oil and can be used to create multiple textures, so it can be difficult to avoid. If you eat processed foods, whether you are vegan or...

Continue Reading...

Is Honey Vegan? Why Do Vegans Not Eat Honey?

vegan questions Aug 22, 2018

As vegans, we're asked these questions all the time. Do vegans eat honey? The answer is no. Why not? Because vegans do not eat animals or exploit other creatures, and that includes honey bees.  

Why don't vegans eat honey?

Bees do not make honey for us, they make it for their hive. To take it from them when they have no possible way to consent to producing honey for us is morally and ethically wrong, and does not align itself with the veganlifestyle.

Commercial beehives built to allow humans to take honey from bees are not natural; they are engineered. The queen bee is manipulated to remain in the hive, and her worker bees will not desert her. When humans want to steal their honey, honey bees are forcibly subdued and intentionally made confused, before the honey they made for themselves is taken from them and sold for profit.

Why else do vegans not eat honey?

There are a number of other reasons vegans can't eat honey.

  • Bees do not make honey for humans, they...
Continue Reading...
1 2
Close

50% Complete

Two Step

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.